Download our PDF flyer

A new exciting Montreal based collective, boussaroque presents urban, universal folk music. If their repertoire is mostly composed of Celtic material (Gaelic songs, Scottish melodies, Quebec tunes), their arrangements are blended with subtle world music, classical, jazz and even electro influences.

​​

The singer and multi-instrumentalist Ingried is at the heart of this ensemble. She has spent the last four years in the mythical Isle of Barra (Scotland). Infusing this rich culture of music and legends, from Montreal Island to the Scottish Hebrides, Ingried has collated a program of Gaelic and Quebec songs that lead to the album Islands (2016) and the concert Journey to Alba. Playing the kantele (a beautiful Finnish instrument), the mandolin, a wide array of flutes and foot tapping, Ingried shares stories about the sea, travel and immigration, about the multiple links that connect Barra to her own native island, Montreal. On top of being one of the rare singers performing in Gaelic in Canada, Ingried was awarded two gold medals in Scotland in Gaelic competitions.

 

Mario Giroux is on the cello. This music veteran has been part of ensembles as varied as Les Tireux d’Roches, Puirt a baroque, the Quebec Youth Orchestra and many jazz collectives. He brings the lyricism of his instrument to boussaroque, along with groovy bass lines and his vast experience as arranger.

 

François Pelletier is the string master and second singer in the band. Guitar, banjo and buzuki will be his tools. Singer-songwriter, François also plays for Astheur and Seven Bags of Bricks, he teaches and performs as a minstrel at Montreal’s Red Dragon Inn.

 

Dominique Laguë is a human beatbox, though his place in boussaroque might be better qualified as vocal percussion, or vocorhythmic! He performed with experimental or electro groups such as Music for money and Les Globe-Glotters, but also collaborated with well-known artists like Yann Perreault, Ariane Moffat, Loco Locass, Luc de la Rochellière, Qw4rtz, etc.

 

MUSIC

BOUSSAROQUE doesn't have an album yet, but please visit our VIDEOS section for live and studio recordings.

You can support our artists by listening to or buying their tracks:

ISLANDS

Ingried Boussaroque

Quebec and Scotland Folk Songs

island.jpg

ENTRE-TEMPS

François Pelletier

Classical, jazz & folk

fpelletier.jpg

VIDEOS

All our live and studio videos are on our YOUTUBE channel here.

Quebec Folk
Scottish song (in English)
Gaelic & Bluegrass songs

More videos on our YOUTUBE channel.

 

DATES

 

OUR SHOWS AND SERVICES

Download our PDF flyer

LA VEILLÉE/THE CEILIDH

An energic evening inspired by the music nights of old, the "veillées", the "ceilidh", the "sessions"... These evenings of celebration, danse and communion within the community.

The audience gets acquainted with traditional group dances, from Scotland and Quebec, and is also invited to sing, to move, to participate... to have fun!

BARAGWIN

BARAGWIN is a concert where the regional languages are the stars: Quebec French, Gaelic, Breton, Cajun French, Mountain Speech, Scot, Frenglish, etc.

A musical adventure anchored in Montreal's History and exploring its rich roots.

JOURNEY TO ALBA

From Montreal Island to the Scottish Hebrides, Journey to Alba proposes a concert of Gaelic and Quebec songs.

Storyteller as well as musician and singer, Ingried unveils the multiple links between Quebec and Scotland.

This concert is usually presented in duet with Mario Giroux on the cello. It is also available though in trio or more.

 

 

 

THE WORLD TRADITIONS BOOTH

A stand where the public can discover and hear over 50 instruments, some well-known, some more intriguing... But it is also a stand where it is possible to touch and play! On top of the instruments on display, a whole section is at the disposal of the visitors.

 

 

 

WORKSHOPS & MASTERCLASSES

Experienced teachers, boussaroque's musicians propose different workshops for all audiences: gaelic singing, Scottish dance, percussive singing (from puirt a bial to turlute, not forgetting beatboxing!), instruments workshops, etc.

 

CONTACT US

boussaroque@mandragore.ca

+1 514 659 6699

Follow us on Facebook for the last news!

facebook.com/boussaroqueband

Links

Youtube Channel

Ingried's website

François Pelletier's website

Télécharger notre dépliant PDF

« Trad urbain » et « folk universel » pourraient qualifier la musique de cette excitante nouvelle formation montréalaise. Le répertoire de boussaroque est principalement constitué de pièces celtiques (chansons gaéliques, mélodies écossaises, tounes québécoises), mais leurs arrangements empruntent à différentes musiques du monde, au classique, au jazz, et même à l’électro.

La chanteuse et multi-instrumentiste Ingried est l’âme de ce quatuor. Elle a passé les quatre dernières années dans la mythique île de Barra (Écosse). S’imprégnant de cette culture de musique et de légende, de l’île de Montréal aux Hébrides écossaises, Ingried a assemblé un répertoire de chants gaéliques et québécois qui a permis de créer l’album Islands (2016) et le concert La route d’Alba. S’accompagnant au kantele – ce magnifique instrument finnois, à la mandoline, à la podorythmie et jouant une panoplie d’instruments à vent insolites, Ingried retrace dans ses prestations les multiples liens existants entre le Québec et l’Écosse, faits historiques et anecdotes issues de ses propres voyages. En plus d’être l’une des rares chanteuses à maîtriser le gaélique au Canada, Ingried a remporté deux médailles d’or en Écosse dans des compétitions de culture gaélique.

Mario Giroux, au violoncelle et à la mandoline, est un vétéran de la musique. Sa feuille de route est emplie de groupes aussi variés que Les Tireux d’Roches, Puirt a baroque, l’Orchestre des Jeunes du Québec et plusieurs collectifs de jazz. Il apporte à boussaroque le lyrisme de son instrument, ainsi que des lignes de basse bien rythmée et sa vaste expérience d’arrangeur.

 

François Pelletier est à la tête de la section « cordes » et aussi le deuxième chanteur du groupe. Ses armes seront la guitare, le bouzouki, le banjo. Auteur-compositeur-interprète, François s’implique aussi dans plusieurs groupes, tels Astheur et Seven Bags of Bricks. Il enseigne également la guitare et se produit comme ménestrel à l’Auberge du Dragon Rouge (Montréal).

 

Dominique Laguë est un « beatboxer », mais au sein de boussaroque, son rôle sera mieux décrit par le terme percussion vocale ou même le néologisme « vocorythmie ». Il a fait partie de groupes de musique expérimentale et électro comme Music for Money ou les Globe-glotters, mais a aussi prêté ses cordes vocales à bien des artistes connus, tels Yann Perreault, Ariane Moffat, Loco Locass, Luc de la Rochellière, Qw4rtz, etc.

 

MUSIQUE

BOUSSAROQUE n'a pas encore d'album, mais nous vous invitons à visiter la section VIDÉOS pour des enregistrements studio et live

Vous pouvez supporter nos artistes en écoutant et achetant leurs pistes:

ISLANDS

Ingried Boussaroque

Chansons traditionnelles québécoises et écossaises

island.jpg

ENTRE-TEMPS

François Pelletier

Guitare classique, jazz et folk

fpelletier.jpg

VIDÉOS

Tous nos vidéos live et studio sur notre chaîne YOUTUBE ici.

Trad québécois
Chanson écossaise (en anglais)
Chanson gaélique et bluegrass

Plus de vidéos sur notre chaîne YOUTUBE.

 

DATES

 

NOS SHOWS ET SERVICES

 

Télécharger notre dépliant PDF

LA VEILLÉE/THE CEILIDH

Une soirée dansante et énergique à l'image des veillées d'autrefois, des ceilidhs, des sessions... Ces soirées qui faisaient la part belle à la fête, à la danse et à la communauté.

Le public est invité à découvrir des danses traditionnelles de groupe, d'Écosse et du Québec, à chanter, à bouger... à s'amuser!

BARAGWIN 

 

BARAGWIN, c'est un concert où les langues régionales sont mises à l'honneur: du gaélique au québécois, en passant par le breton, le patois, le français cajun, le mountain speech, le franglais, le Scot...

Une aventure musicale ancrée dans l'histoire de Montréal, et qui en explore les riches racines.

LA ROUTE D'ALBA

De l’île de Montréal aux Hébrides écossaises, La route d'Alba convie le public à un concert de chants gaéliques et québécois. Autant conteuse que musicienne et chanteuse, Ingried y retrace les multiples liens existants entre le Québec et l’Écosse.

Ce concert est le plus souvent présenté en duo avec Mario Giroux au violoncelle. Il est cependant aussi disponible en version trio ou plus!

 

 

 

LE KIOSQUE TRADITIONS DU MONDE

Un kiosque où le public peut admirer et entendre plus d'une cinquantaine d'instruments, certains familiers, d'autres étranges... Mais aussi un kiosque où l'on peut jouer et toucher! En plus des instruments en démonstration, une table complète est à la disposition des visiteurs.

 

 

 

ATELIERS et CLASSES DE MAÎTRES

Communicateurs expérimentés, les musiciens de boussaroque peuvent offrir plusieurs types d’ateliers grand public : chant gaélique, danses écossaises, chant percussif (du puirt a bial à la turlute, en passant par le beat box!), ateliers instrumentaux, etc.

 

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

boussaroque@mandragore.ca

+1 514 659 6699

Suivez-nous sur Facebook pour les dernières nouvelles!

facebook.com/boussaroqueband

 

Liens

Chaîne Youtube

Site d'Ingried

Site de François Pelletier